Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Inspiration

Living with a mood disorder is a hard job. Being a mom with a mood disorder is harder than any job I’ve ever had.

I am infinitely thankful, but totally amazed, that somehow I ended up creating one of the happiest babies I’ve ever seen; one who smiles, sings, and dances all of the time. I honestly wouldn’t even believe she’s mine, but I have the scar to prove it. I stare at her in awe from the darkness of depression, and frolic with her through hypomania. 

I want to be her when I grow up, but in the meantime, between mood shifts, I’ll try to smell a flower or two along the way. 

To submit your photos and join the collective, see submissions or click follow.

2 comments on “Inspiration

  1. Where God Takes Me
    March 7, 2012

    Lovely–good work in all respects.

  2. expatlogue
    March 8, 2012

    I am a mum of three with Borderline Personality Disorder. Before I had children I worried if I would be able to live up to the responsibility of being a good parent. I didn’t want to end up continuing the pattern of bad parenting I experienced.
    But I needn’t have feared. Having children changed my life and my outlook on the world. Now it’s about making it work for THEM, not me – and that makes me work harder to make things possible. They are my inspiration.

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,996 other followers

