Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Hare and the Bear

Photos by Lauren Turton from Dayton, Ohio who has recently moved to San Diego, California.  After years of working in the restaurant industry she decided to return to school to pursue her passions- photography and art.  After finishing the program and starting a photography business Lauren realized self-portraits and fine art were her passions and interest within the photography world.  With her knowledge of film photography and love for the digital world she enjoys combining different processes and creating a unique final product.

About these photos: For years I had the same schedule and same lifestyle, when I returned to school at the age of 25 my life completely changed and I experienced deep anxiety issues with the changes.  I was prescribed medication for my anxiety problems which at first was very hard for me to deal with and accept.  After developing a new routine for my life I eventually was able to get off of the medication.  I learned through this time to be open and honest with myself and others about how I was feeling and to not feel self conscious about what I was experiencing.  Anxiety is very difficult to deal with, but deep breathing and thinking positively helped me through this transition time in my life.

____________________________________________________________

**Send your self-portraits here to be a part of our Faces of Mental Health Month.

**We’re now on Facebook & Twitter! Please “like” us and help us grow!

4 comments on “Hare and the Bear

  1. rommel
    May 11, 2012

    I wonder where in San Diego this is?

    Like

  2. Irfan Hussain
    May 12, 2012

    hehe lol :D

    Like

  3. Emily Sheehan
    May 12, 2012

    Fabulous Fantasy!

    Like

  4. anotherthousandwords
    May 13, 2012

    Lauren, these are such FUN shots! Best wishes for your success!

    Like

Please Join the Conversation!

Information

This entry was posted on May 11, 2012 by in Anxiety and tagged , , , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 23,169 other followers

