Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Sweet Slumber

Photo taken by Joan Currie from San Francisco, California, USA, of Lauren DiMarco.

About this photo: When my husband was first diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis he sank into a deep depression and decided that life was not worth living. I awoke each morning filled with dread that, perhaps in the night, he had executed one of his many plans to terminate his life and I needed to find his body before my young daughters did.

**Submit any type of photography to Broken Light here.  **Now on Facebook & Twitter!

6 comments on “Sweet Slumber

  1. erinelizabeth22
    May 29, 2012

    Wow…what a powerful statement. how terrible.

    Like

    • Satin & Sand
      May 29, 2012

      Thank you for your comment. This is the first time I have talked about my husband’s suicide period. It lasted for several years and robbed my daughters of the carefree childhood that they so richly deserved.
      Warmly! Joan

      Like

  2. magikdolls
    May 29, 2012

    Such a sad statement.. I have hair standing straight up on my arms right now.. poor woman.. I am so sorry for her situation.. I can only pray for her husband… :'(

    Like

  3. John
    May 29, 2012

    Sad statement, beautiful photo.

    Like

  4. beachcomber
    May 31, 2012

    Powerful photo reflecting a very sad story. I especially like how you captured the idea of peaceful sleep you craved.

    Like

  5. magicallymad
    June 3, 2012

    It’s very interesting hearing the other point of view…very happy o see your husband’s suicidal period is over? Best to you & your family.

    Like

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 22,658 other followers

