Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Solitude

Photo taken by hipsterloki, 21 years old from New Orleans, LA, who was diagnosed with clinical depression at the ago of 14, and has struggled ever since. The anxiety came afterwards, and it has progressively gotten worse, especially over the last few months. Within the last year she has overcome 3 major depressive episodes and is now seeking the help she so desperately needs. It has been hard, life hasn’t been kind to her in her eyes, but she is on a new medication and now seeing a wonderful therapist and things seem to be getting better every day.

About this photo: This photograph was taken during a spontaneous trip to Biloxi, MS. I find that the beach is a good place for me to go when I need some time to myself. I love the sound of the waves, the sight of the open water, it seems like it’s just endless. It’s the perfect place to be when I want to be alone with my thoughts, when I want to relax and just be at peace. I can’t think of anywhere more beautiful than near a glistening body of water with my toes in the sand and only the sound of the waves around me.

**Submit photos to Broken Light here **Like us on Facebook & Twitter.

2 comments on “Solitude

  1. II 4S Aopmrdd
    July 3, 2012

    God bless her

  2. Emily
    July 3, 2012

    Excellent picture. Description we can all relate to.

Please Join the Conversation!

Information

This entry was posted on July 3, 2012 by in Depression and tagged , , , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,903 other followers

