Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Mix CD: Colors of Life

Photo by Natalia from Boston, MA. She is 17 years old, and recovering from anorexia nervosa.

About this photo: A big part of my recovery has been making art through various mediums. Not only has art helped me to find a sense of self, but it has taught me how to release my emotions in a healthy way. I decided to link music and painting in this piece because they have both allowed me to find freedom from the rigid life I was living under my eating disorder.

I thought… If you could have a soundtrack to your life, what would be on it? For me, there would be the yellows, happy songs, the blues, slow more emotional ones, the reds, vibrant, loud songs and the greens, meaningful and memorable ones.

**Submit photos to Broken Light here **Like us on Facebook & Twitter.
3 comments on “Mix CD: Colors of Life

  1. scrapydo
    July 12, 2012

    This is so good! I am a memory healer and use all kinds of craft and art things to help the healing. I love it when somebody I am helping gets a brightness in the eye or just relaxes while doing the arty stuff!

    Like

  2. on thehomefrontandbeyond
    July 12, 2012

    the music of your life – nicely done

    Like

  3. ehehevan
    July 15, 2012

    So creative and memorable! What a great therapeutic medium!

    Like

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,622 other followers

