Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Dreaming

Photo taken by a woman with recurrent clinical depression. She is trying to work her way out of a severe episode.

About this photo: I have been depressed for a long time, severely depressed for several years to the point of barely functioning. It makes it very difficult to leave my home. I have committed to getting better for my husband and toddler, so I left the house yesterday to visit one of my doctors who is hard for me to get to. I don’t drive, so while sitting in the passenger seat I kept taking photos. It is something that calms me, in addition to Xanax. Along the way, I captured some interesting cityscapes and added dreamy effects. Looking back at the photos, it makes me sad that I feel so far away from that world, but on a positive note it makes me want to be able to be out in the world again more, living life, for both myself and my family.

Right now, I feel like I am still seeing the world from behind a barrier, as in this photo, but trying to hold onto that dream of being on the other side, present, and enjoying life. A dream I hope I can make come true, with the help of my medicine and doctors, and hopefully something in me. 

**Submit photos to Broken Light here **Like us on Facebook & Twitter.
12 comments on “Dreaming

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreaming « beyondpaisley

  2. Northern Narratives
    July 13, 2012

    There is light and hope in your photo. Best wishes to you :)

    Like

  3. murphy
    July 14, 2012

    All will be well.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreaming « Ben Williams' World

  5. Ramat
    July 14, 2012

    I’m sure your doctor was happy to made it. It’s so important to get there. Keep trying! :)

    Like

  6. Gledwood
    July 14, 2012

    She’s very articulate considering how depressed she is. It always amazes me that a person can be virtually catatonic all day and yet express themselves so clearly… I don’t know about you or anyone else, but when I’ve gone really manic I get to the stage where people seem to have great difficulty following quite a lot of what I say, in speech or writing. Yet nothing equivalent ever happens in depression. I find that weird…

    And I love her photo by the way :-)

    Like

  7. The Retiring Sort
    July 14, 2012

    We’re dreaming with you… wonderful image!

    Like

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreaming « Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Dreaming | Just Snaps

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Dreaming | Chittle Chattle

  11. Caroline
    July 16, 2012

    You will get there and the fact that you can see “the other side” gives you the goal and inspiration you need to recover. Well done for getting out, that must have been a big hurdle for you and you should be very proud of yourself :)

    Like

  12. Emily
    July 17, 2012

    Great photo….it does make you feel dreamy…..good luck in your battle

    Like

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 23,590 other followers

