Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Inside 2 aka Before She was She

Photo taken by a photographer with chronic depression. She uses photography as a tool in her healing. She has been having trouble with the logistics of running a photography business, so she has not been doing many shoots, but she loves it so she will keep on trying.

About this photo: This is a photo I took of a neighbor. She intended to do a maternity shoot, but time speeded by and suddenly her due date was mere days away. I got a call out of the blue, “I’m in labor but we still have time, can we take photos now?” It was my first shoot with someone actually in labor. Despite how uncomfortable she was, we got some great shots, both in the studio and outdoors. I think because of the contractions she was even more connected to the baby inside.

On a personal note, it reminded me of my pregnancy. When my baby was growing inside me, there was nothing that could be compared to it. I reveled at every milestone. To hear her heart beat. To feel her move for the first time. To feel her sweet little hiccups. Maybe if I become healthy again, if my depression dissipates and my moods steady, perhaps I will be able to feel those moments again, but if not, I will still hold close the treasure that is the memory of my daughter’s development inside me. 

**Broken Light Collective submission info here **Like us on Facebook & Twitter.

13 comments on “Inside 2 aka Before She was She

  1. Emily
    July 20, 2012

    beautiful picture

  2. Arindam
    July 20, 2012

    Great picture.

  3. Northern Narratives
    July 20, 2012

    Wonderful.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside « Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside | Cardboard Me Travels

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Inside | Chittle Chattle

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Inside 2 | Just Snaps

  8. autumninbruges
    July 21, 2012

    Great interpretation!

  9. Pingback: WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: Inside – woven decor

  10. The Retiring Sort
    July 23, 2012

    Wonderful – and a lovely take on the challenge!

  11. Tiger Lillies
    July 23, 2012

    Lovely photo and story that goes with it. My heart breaks from your personal story. Wishing you the very best.

  12. rwvbestomolo1987
    September 15, 2012

    Reblogged this on Ashley Hughes Blog.

  13. q3uinatolun1971
    October 15, 2012

    Reblogged this on Keith Ridley Weblog.

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 10,002 other followers

