Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Inside aka What’s for Dinner?

Photo taken by a woman in her 30s who struggles with severe depression, anxiety, and at times agoraphobia, which keeps her inside much of the time. Her dog has been a companion through the years when she has had trouble leaving the house.

About this photo: My dog is quite a character. She is a long-haired chihuahua mix who I adopted from a shelter in South Los Angeles in 2003. She may be aging, but she can still look and act like a puppy. This was taken yesterday when there happened to be people at the house. They were all outside, and when I went inside to take respite, I found her perched up at the table like a human, with her paws up. She looked like she was either ready for a board meeting, or a fancy meal. Unfortunately for her, she did not succeed in getting extra treats. She did, however, succeed in making me laugh, and I really needed a good laugh. Thanks my furry little love.

**Broken Light Collective submission info here **Like us on Facebook & Twitter.

25 comments on “Inside aka What’s for Dinner?

  1. Northern Narratives
    July 20, 2012

    Great photo.

    Like

  2. Gilly Gee
    July 20, 2012

    That is so cute and I can imagine what a comfort she has been.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside | Autumn in Bruges

  4. Paula
    July 20, 2012

    She is a cutie!

    Like

  5. Emily
    July 20, 2012

    Good Dog!

    Like

  6. Jo Bryant
    July 20, 2012

    the image and the story just made my morning start off so much brighter

    Like

  7. lemontree1
    July 20, 2012

    what a sweety :)

    Like

  8. MindMindful
    July 20, 2012

    Chairdog of the board? The laughter they provoke is so refreshing, healing, wonderful to experience, eh??

    Like

  9. Louise
    July 20, 2012

    Bahahahaaaaa. Oh my goodness what a photo!! That is HILARIOUS!!!! :-D

    Like

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside « Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside | Cardboard Me Travels

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Inside | Chittle Chattle

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Inside 2 | Just Snaps

  14. frizztext (@frizztext)
    July 21, 2012

    very funny! a king!

    Like

  15. Pingback: WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: Inside – woven decor

  16. Green Eyes
    July 21, 2012

    precious

    Like

  17. Naomi Baltuck
    July 24, 2012

    I love this, and the caption too!

    Like

  18. barryk21
    July 27, 2012

    Great photo! and thank you for visiting my blog. Hope to see you again soon.

    Like

  19. trishworth
    August 3, 2012

    This photo made me laugh for the first time today. Dogs are a gift. :-)

    Like

  20. tonyahines
    August 5, 2012

    Too cute…leave it to our furry friends to always come through when you need a smile : )

    Like

  21. janbeckerman
    August 8, 2012

    Definitely a lasting image :).

    Like

  22. RobynG
    August 9, 2012

    Thank you for liking my blog post yesterday! I will be back to view your blog. A wonderful concept, great way to help others, and a terrific way to display the work of others. I do hope you are successful in having a live gallery some day.

    Like

  23. sued51
    August 13, 2012

    SOOOO cute!!!

    Like

  24. Lynda
    January 4, 2013

    What a darling dog!
    If I may ask: What are you doing to help yourself overcome your agoraphobia? I am suffering with it and depression… which came first? If you wouldn’t mind talking about it to me I would love to hear what has helped you. Thank you!

    Like

    • I’m sorry to hear that, it’s so hard. The depression came first for me. The agoraphobia set in over time. I haven’t quite overcome it, but I am getting out a bit. I first found a few places near my home that felt safe to me (other people’s homes and a few quiet restaurants), and if I had to go out I would go to one of those “safe places.” I’m trying to branch out a little, but still primarily use those. I am also using DBT techniques to ground myself, check the facts, and push myself to do more. It’s hard but I’m trying. Even though I often feel like I am going to have a panic attack or die, the reality is that I most likely will not, so I remind myself of that fact and try to stay in reality and the present moment, and out of my head. My spinning thoughts are what get me. Lastly, Klonopin or Xanax have helped me too. Klonopin preventatively before I leave the house if I know it will be high stress or Xanax if I feel a panic attack coming on. I still am not cured of the agoraphobia or depression, but I am working on it. Good luck! Hope you start feeling better soon.

      Like

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 22,736 other followers

