Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Prison of Solitude

Photo taken by Cindy Darkheart, a 50 year old woman from Texas, who has been living with depression for 36 years.

About this photo: At times I have difficulty being around people. This photo was taken one morning when I woke up early to do the laundry at my apartment complex. I get up early in the hopes of avoiding people. I was enjoying the solitude and listening to the birds singing. I looked at the pool and it looked so inviting with no one around. I began to think of how my fear of being around people really isn’t about solitude, but like a prison.

**Broken Light Collective submission info here **Like us on Facebook & Twitter.

3 comments on “Prison of Solitude

  1. The Quiet Borderline (back in hospital)
    July 22, 2012

    Such a contrasting photo, I really like it. The darker side of it comes through more though – Wow, that is a long time to have been suffering with depression for. My heart goes out to you.

    Wishing you well.

    Like

  2. scrapydo
    July 22, 2012

    Sounds like me. This photo says a lot

    Like

  3. Pingback: Self Inflicted solitude « mrscmonkey

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 23,675 other followers

