Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Rebirth of Life

Photo taken by Thirdeyemom, who experienced severe postpartum depression after the birth of her first child. It was a terrifying, isolating experience for her, which included terrible insomnia and hallucinations. Thankfully with the help of doctors and family, one week after her son’s first birthday she was able to board a plane to South Africa, resuming her love of travel. Through traveling, writing, and photography she began to see the beauty of the world again.

About this photo: I am obsessed with flowers. They are so beautiful and so delicate. Flowers brighten my day and fill me with joy. There is something about spring that always gives me a newfound energy in life. Perhaps it is the rebirth of life. The budding of leaves and opening of flowers that bring so much joy and rejuvenation. I took this photo during a spring trip to Virginia. Spring had yet to come back home in Minnesota yet in Virginia everything was bursting with life and color. The energy made me feel so alive and joyful. I especially like this photo for the delicacy of the purplish-blue flower beaming up to the sun. It was long overdue after a cold, hard winter.

**Broken Light Collective submission info here **Like us on Facebook & Twitter.

5 comments on “Rebirth of Life

  1. Pat Bailey
    July 28, 2012

    Wow, do I like this! At first I thought it was a photo of a painting because the juxtaposition of the flowers almost seem surreal. They don’t seem to be on the appropriate planes. Maybe it is just my late afternoon drop in energy. :)

    Like

    • thirdeyemom
      July 29, 2012

      Thanks! I was at a huge tulip garden in Williamsburg, Virginia visiting my sister. When I saw the variations and shades of the tulips I had to go crazy taking pictures. They were so sensational!

      Like

  2. Bams Triwoko
    July 28, 2012

    Stunning image… love it.. :)

    Like

  3. Emily
    July 29, 2012

    Here! Here! We all need to be reborn often.

    Like

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 22,161 other followers

