Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Glimmer of Hope

Photo taken by Stephanie from Knoxville, TN. She has struggled with depression and anxiety since childhood, as well as PTSD.

About this photo: Depression is very much like being lost at sea, hopeless, alone, dark, painful, and exhausting.  You fight with everything in you to keep afloat with no sight of relief ahead, you feel all there is left to do is give up, let the water take over you and sink to the darkest depths, maybe there you can find freedom. 

The truth is, you are strong enough to fight this, there is hope, just beyond that wave there is land.  It’s a daily battle some days a minute to minute battle, keep fighting, you are strong enough to make it!  I have been fighting depression and anxiety for over 20 years and I am only 32.  I have been in therapy since I was a child and yesterday for the first time, with a new counselor I saw a light, a glimmer of hope that one day soon this pain will be only a memory.  I was diagnosed with PTSD from a childhood of abuse, now that I know what the effect of the abuse is, I can dig deeper and attack the root.  I want to encourage you to fight, never give up and know that you are strong enough to overcome!  Be blessed.

**Submit photos to Broken Light here **Like us on Facebook & Twitter.

4 comments on “Glimmer of Hope

  1. scrapydo
    August 1, 2012

    Reblogged this on scrapydo and commented:
    This is true of depression. Thanks for sharing

    Like

  2. Tiger Lillies
    August 2, 2012

    You have explained depression perfectly. I’m so very glad that you have found a glimmer of hope. To many that isn’t much, but to us that suffer from this…a glimmer is huge.
    Thank you very much for your encouraging message. The past 2 days have been awful and tomorrow I’ll be able to do nothing. Honestly typing this message is exhausting me..but wanted to say that I’m happy for you. You can do this!!!

    Like

    • Stephanie Cook
      August 6, 2012

      I am so very sorry you are struggling, I understand what you are going though and I hope and pray you get a break from the storm. You can do this as well, you are strong! Keep pushing forward!

      Like

  3. Just me Hibana
    August 9, 2012

    It’s always valuable to me to see the light in other’s eyes who’ve known such pain, yet still find strength in life,

    Like

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 22,699 other followers

