Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

My Sweet Love

Photo taken by Tiger Lillies, a 48 year old single woman who suffers from deep depression, psychosis, and agoraphobia, all while raising her 2 young grandchildren, 4 and 5 years old. Thankfully she has a supportive partner Rick who helps make daily life with children possible. Her grandchildren, as well as her recent love of photography, have become her saviours and kept her from succumbing to the negative temptations that regularly haunt her. She has tried to commit suicide several times in the past, but thankfully is still with us. Her hopes are to get past her illness, as well as glaucoma, and become a non-wedding event photographer.

About this photo: “I was back in a slump again, and trying my best to get out of it. I really didn’t feel like taking any pictures, but Rick had come over with some beautiful mixed flowers and asked me to take pictures of them. I placed the two tulips exactly as they look…stood back behind the camera and snapped. Becoming a little overwhelmed, I stopped and really looked at the two flowers. To me it looked as though the one was holding the other ones face, gently bringing it up towards her. How beautiful I thought.”

____________________________________________________________

**Broken Light Collective submission info here **Like us on Facebook & Twitter.

17 comments on “My Sweet Love

  1. Northern Narratives
    August 12, 2012

    This photo touches my heart. I love it.

    Like

  2. Lisa O'Bryan
    August 12, 2012

    This is the sweetest image…so beautiful! :)

    Like

  3. Mitch Elder
    August 12, 2012

    This is very well done. Bravo!

    Like

  4. II 4S Aopmrdd
    August 12, 2012

    nice shot and her touching background

    Like

  5. Tiger Lillies
    August 13, 2012

    This has been a bad week or so for me. I’ve been at a low, but this time with the feeling of such powerful anger. Not to sure how long this will last, but I pray for not much longer. Thank you all for liking this photo as much as you do. The comments and the likes mean a great deal to me. Thank you.

    Like

  6. Lady Deidre
    August 13, 2012

    Learn to do deliverance — It’s awesome! Jesus can & will set you free!
    Fantastic photo!
    God Bless You!

    Like

  7. on thehomefrontandbeyond
    August 13, 2012

    it is beautiful and the explanation even more so

    Like

  8. Emily
    August 13, 2012

    Dramatic photo…..made me gasp. Great.

    Like

  9. Ann
    August 13, 2012

    As soon as you said one was holding the others face – Everything seemed to make sense … crazy good insight!

    Our best,
    Anns

    Like

  10. II 4S Aopmrdd
    August 14, 2012

    Hi Broken Light, I’ve just nominated you an award on mypost, http://nkin.wordpress.com/2012/08/14/one-lovely-blog-award-nomination/.

    Like

  11. lauracookphotography
    August 14, 2012

    So beautiful

    Like

  12. Developing A New Image
    August 21, 2012

    Very nice, love the lure of this images……..shalom en theos…..jim

    Like

  13. Ian Francis
    August 28, 2012

    Photography is an unexpected gift of my depression! It helps me on the good and bad days, this is on stunning image! :)

    Like

  14. Pingback: My Sweet Love by T. Lillies « Cardtales By The Lioness

  15. The Lioness
    August 28, 2012

    I thought this photograph was very moving and beautiful. I have shared it on my Blog, CardTales By the Lioness. If you would prefer I take it down, please let me know! You are in my thoughts.

    The Lioness

    Like

  16. Tiger Lillies
    August 28, 2012

    From my heart, I thank all of you so very much for all the lovely comments and the large amount of likes.
    @ The Lioness, I am honoured and humbled that you would post a photo of mine on your site. By all means please leave it. I am touched. Thank you so very much.xx

    Like

  17. Chaotiqual
    September 1, 2012

    Reblogged this on chaotiqual.

    Like

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,597 other followers

