Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Finding Calm

Photo taken by a woman in her thirties who has major depression, anxiety, and is on the bipolar spectrum. She has been through countless treatments, including tons of medications, an army of doctors, Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation, and most recently ECT.

About this photo: “Sunsets can be quite calming, and when you deal with mental health issues, finding calm can be important. This sunset helped me find calm on a particularly trying day. I was agitated and frustrated, but also depressed. I needed an escape and I found it in the form of a sunset and taking photos. I have often found that taking photos can help bring me back from difficult mood states so I can deal with whatever people or situations I need to deal with.

____________________________________________________________

**Visit Broken Light’s main gallery here. Currently accepting submissions.

*Like us on Facebook & Twitter. Follow below for e-mail notifications.

5 comments on “Finding Calm

  1. Emily
    September 7, 2012

    Stunning photo.

  2. Darla Welchel
    September 7, 2012

    Reblogged this on Through The Lens and commented:
    We all face times where we need “Calm.”
    I hope this brings you as much calm as it brought me – Darla

  3. natureintheburbs
    September 7, 2012

    Beautiful

  4. Syncopated Eyeball
    September 7, 2012

    ‘agitated and frustrated, but also depressed’

    I know that feeling. Very hard to deal with.

    I too find taking photos helps. I can get lost in the process. Am totally present for a while. Everything else falls away.

  5. eof737
    September 9, 2012

    Wonderful shot and I love the purple haze in the sky… Do check out my contribution. :-)

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 10,055 other followers

