Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Somebody That I Used to Know

Photo taken by  Christina, who has experienced terrible anxiety, often due to stress and/or insomnia. She also deals with agitation and extreme irritability, and becomes anxious in situations that are uncomfortable to her, like large groups of people. She is 19 years old and has been studying photography throughout her teenage years.

About this photo: “This photograph was taken as part of a series from my black and white film class in school. The project was to take photos that said something about us. Music is a big part of my life. In order to incorporate that, I decided to take lyrics from 15 of my favorite songs and take photos that had to do with those lyrics but also said something about my feelings towards aspects of my life or parts of my personality.

The lyric that inspired this photo is from “Somebody That I Used to Know” by Gotye. It is “but you didn’t have to cut me out.” I was showing the loss of a friendship. I had a friend who was very close to me but then our friendship suddenly ended without an explanation.”

____________________________________________________________

**Visit Broken Light’s main gallery here. Currently accepting submissions.

*Like us on Facebook & Twitter. Follow below for e-mail notifications.

7 comments on “Somebody That I Used to Know

  1. Kathryn Dawson
    September 10, 2012

    Inspirational work :)

    Like

  2. Teressa
    September 10, 2012

    I’m sorry your very close friendship ended without an explanation. That’s a painful journey I’d not want anyone to experience.

    Like

  3. perfectlight
    September 10, 2012

    great composition, very well executed

    Like

  4. Derek
    September 11, 2012

    Whats the odd of the radio playing somebody i used to know when I am reading this.

    Like

  5. clementinalima
    September 12, 2012

    I love this photo. I love the way it expresses joy and a sad uncertainty at once.

    Like

  6. Lesley
    October 1, 2012

    Sensitivity portrayed

    Like

  7. Korea, Love and Longing
    October 7, 2012

    This is lovely, and I can relate to things ending without an explanation. I suffer from anxiety, and I think not being given an explanation or closure is the when my anxiety is at it’s worse.

    Like

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 23,559 other followers

