Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Gratitude

Photo taken by a 32-year-old woman who suffers from bipolar-related depression and agitation.

About this photo: “When I see pumpkins and gourds together like this, it reminds me of family. Not just because of the holiday, but because they are all different, but somehow work together. I know I am not the easiest person to be around these days. I feel like I am always sad or angry. I do not feel worthy of love. I mean, I wouldn’t want to be around me if I wasn’t stuck with myself, which is why I am surprised that anyone else has stuck with me through this mess. I am amazed and thankful that I have such a loving and understanding partner, an awe-inspiring daughter, a sweet little dog-ter (unless you are a mail person), and a handful of key family and friends who have loved and supported me through the extreme lows and highs of an especially trying few years. It’s through the difficult times when true supporters emerge and the rest all disappear. All I can say is I’m sorry and thank you. My gratitude is beyond words. As much as I think at times that they might be better off without me, I hope between treatments, meds, and doctors, my moods get under control soon so I don’t lose the few amazing people left in my life. A life with people such as these, no matter how few or many, no matter what you do or where you live, is a life worth living.”  

____________________________________________________________

**Visit Broken Light’s main gallery here. Currently accepting submissions.

*Like us on Facebook & Twitter. Follow below for e-mail notifications.

7 comments on “Gratitude

  1. Emily
    November 23, 2012

    Beautiful still life……a painting-photograph.

    Like

  2. Northern Narratives
    November 23, 2012

    Amazing post.

    Like

  3. josephinedayco
    November 23, 2012

    Lovely and well-said!

    Like

  4. lingeringvisions
    November 23, 2012

    I’ve just recently found out that someone very close to me is bi-polar and although it explains a lot it doesn’t lessen the fact that the last few months have been hell. The love I have for him and my compassion suggest I not forsake him now but my survival instincts tell me to run for the hills. Thanks for recognizing amazing. I hope I can live up to that. Good luck in your own battle.

    Like

  5. seeker57
    November 24, 2012

    Thanks for sharing, I miyself have a brain disease, i don’t understand why they call it mental when the fact its the brain, thus “braindisease”. I was diagnosed unipolar. Welcome to the club. Will be following you. Peace

    Like

  6. eof737
    November 26, 2012

    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪May your week ahead be filled with thankful moments! .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”
    Elizabeth :-)

    Like

  7. tableofcolors
    November 26, 2012

    Good luck with your struggle, sometimes the biggest step is acknowledging the real challenge as you have and learning to live with it and finding the right coping mechanisms. Each person is given challenges in life, sometimes though it seems as if they are not distrubuted quite fairly! All the best to you!

    Like

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 23,500 other followers

