Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Reflecting at Sunset

IMG_8547aIMG_8619a

Photo taken in upstate New York by a woman who suffers from major depressive disorder. She is married with one child, and loves to photograph them and anything else she sees through her lens.

About this photo: “When I’m depressed, I’m in my own world, even if I don’t want to be. I always want to be alone, for obvious reasons, and stay in, but when it comes to holidays such as Thanksgiving, my husband thinks that it is important to be with extended family beyond our own little family unit. I agreed, for him, to leave and go my Aunt’s farm in the country. It really is beautiful there and I’m glad I went. I was able to spend time with family who I rarely get to see – some of whom can even empathize with my situation – got to eat delicious food, get kissed by a horse, and even have some alone time to reflect in front of the breathtaking reflections of sunset on her pond.” 

____________________________________________________________

**Visit Broken Light’s main gallery here. Currently accepting submissions.

*Like us on Facebook & Twitter. Follow below for e-mail notifications.

13 comments on “Reflecting at Sunset

  1. anngrafics
    November 30, 2012

    I feel the same when I’m depressed – glad you went and shared these gorgeous shots!

    Like

  2. Sankar
    November 30, 2012

    Nice photos…

    Like

  3. luro97
    November 30, 2012

    Wonderful shots! Peaceful looking. Is it great that your husband got you to go and that you enjoyed yourself.

    Like

  4. Miles
    November 30, 2012

    These made me catch my breath. Thanks for sharing them :-)

    Like

  5. Julie Chicklitasaurus
    November 30, 2012

    Very beautiful scenery and write up. Thanks for sharing! xo

    Like

  6. Northern Narratives
    November 30, 2012

    Beautiful photos. I very much like the first one.

    Like

  7. spiral
    November 30, 2012

    even though the first one gives the impression of peacefulness, I see there something else in addition. The loneliness I can so well relate to.
    And strangly, probably even this loneliness, even though it makes me feel so uncomfortably isolated, has something beautiful about it… cannot explain in words. The picture does it for me.
    Nice. Thank you.

    Like

  8. Lisa O'Bryan
    November 30, 2012

    These images are beautiful, and remind me of home (I live in FL, but lived upstate in NY all my life…) So glad you decided to go…and thank you for sharing! :)

    Like

  9. Nikki
    November 30, 2012

    Lovely!

    Like

  10. Silken Photography
    November 30, 2012

    Really beautiful and tranquil shots.

    Like

  11. grumpytykepix
    December 1, 2012

    I consider myself very fortunate that I do not and never have suffered from a depressive illness, especially as I have two family members who do (in a very serious way) and through my work come into contact with more people who do. I have just discovered this blog (through a follow on my other, non photography specific blog) and think it is wonderful that photography can be so supportive for people who suffer in this way.

    Like

  12. Eric
    December 6, 2012

    Absolutely fantastic exposure on the first photo.

    Like

  13. eof737
    December 9, 2012

    Beautiful shots…

    Like

Please Join the Conversation!

Information

This entry was posted on November 30, 2012 by in Depression and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,601 other followers

