Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Letting Go

8151428142_653c13b103_oPhoto taken by Jeannette Rose, or Jennya 21-year-old english major at a university in Massachusetts. She is interested in feminism, literature, and collecting assortments of tea. She suffers from various mental illnesses – depression and anxiety being the major ones – and then ADD which she finds more frustrating than anything else.

About this photo: “I was having an off day and honestly I wasn’t even in the mood to take pictures… but it was a part of my 52 weeks self-portrait project and I forced myself to go out and do it. This picture represents (for me) letting go of tension, anxiety, or whatever is getting me down. I think I even started to throw the leaves more out of frustration than for the picture itself. I really, really love how it came out. I felt a lot better after taking it also.

You know… I showed this photo to my Grandma and she told me, “Jen… you should really smile, you look so sad.” I don’t see that though.” 

____________________________________________________________

**Visit Broken Light’s main gallery here. Currently accepting submissions.

*Like us on Facebook & Twitter. Follow below for e-mail notifications.

8 comments on “Letting Go

  1. jackiebelle
    December 13, 2012

    You look pensive and beautiful. Learning to let go is key. You are so lucky to learn about letting go at such a young age.

    Like

  2. alesiablogs
    December 13, 2012

    Beautiful

    Like

  3. artchismo
    December 13, 2012

    Love the moment captured here. Very honest. And Beautiful.

    Like

  4. thefotobird
    December 13, 2012

    Incredible story behind this. Amazing.

    Like

  5. luro97
    December 13, 2012

    Intense, a portrait of beauty and bravery. Very well done.

    Like

  6. grumpytykepix
    December 14, 2012

    That’s a really lovely photograph Jenny, with so many silent thoughts.

    Like

  7. autisticaplanet
    December 18, 2012

    I like that it does show you are a bit tense. It is good to show the world that not all is always pleasant. I see that you are trying to focus on the colorful fall day, at least, that’s what I interpret. I like the falling leaves. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 22,678 other followers

