Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Constructing a Better Life

Photo taken by a woman who has suffered from depression, anxiety and panic disorder for many years. It has affected her whole life and family. She is trying to fight through it by working with doctors, using medication as needed, and immersing herself in her photography.

About this photo: “After my husband and I moved into the house we now live in, we had to gut the kitchen. It was so old I think it had elements from the 50s and the 30s – but not in a cool retro way – in an I’m so ancient it’s hard to believe I even work sort of way. So we gutted it. Construction can be hard to manage when you don’t have mental health issues, but it was especially difficult to manage with my depression and anxiety. We had to use a bathroom sink upstairs if we wanted any water or to clean anything, and it went on way longer than expected of course. It was noisy and dusty nonstop. But there was something that felt strangely appropriate about it. Like what was going on in my environment matched for once the crazy and sometimes dangerous mess of things that were going on inside my head.

This year I am hoping my mental construction zone will be completed. I am sick of the noise and chaos in my head, and resolved to do whatever it takes to get rid of the mess so I can move forward with my life, and hopefully be a more present, together, happier version of myself.

____________________________________________________________

**Visit Broken Light’s main gallery here. Currently accepting submissions.

*Like us on Facebook & Twitter. Follow below for e-mail notifications.

7 comments on “Constructing a Better Life

  1. Lynda
    January 4, 2013

    Blessings for your recovery!

    Like

  2. Emilio
    January 4, 2013

    Wishing you much success – glad to hear that you are determined to stop that “noise and chaos” in your head. Don’t mean to get all preachy but ego is also the opposite of being “full of yourself”. Kick it to the curb!

    Like

  3. olivethepeople
    January 4, 2013

    What a powerful image and back story! Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  4. vatelechuza
    January 4, 2013

    I agree with ‘olivethepeople’ that is a really powerful image! And Great recit!

    Like

  5. betsyborchardt
    January 4, 2013

    You’re a brave soul to tackle a kitchen project while you’re depressed, with the noise and disorder that entails. I wish you well in your struggle with depression and all that brings with it to deal with. I liked your photograph of your gutted kitchen. It immediately reminded me of the disorder one goes through wnen battling depression.

    Like

  6. Karen
    January 4, 2013

    Keep that positive thinking up. Hope you get better each day. Cheers!

    Like

  7. luro97
    January 5, 2013

    Blessings upon you and your house.

    Like

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 23,675 other followers

