Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Multiple Personalities

Photos taken by Quantumphysica. In her words: “Last year was a hectic time for me, I got incarcerated (twice) and have been diagnosed with schizophrenia, malignant narcissism and mild DID (Dissociative Identity Disorder or Multiple Personality Disorder). The schizophrenia is most likely a hereditary condition, as there are more cases on my mother’s side of the family… as for the narcissism… I think I have always been like that. I share my head with a woman who refers to herself as The Riemann Hypothesis. I don’t know what she does, but apparently she does know everything I do. It is a confusing situation. I also study History of Art at the moment, but I used to be a Physics student. My psychosis turned my life upside down, and I had to abandon those dreams. Despite that, I will always love Physics. I still live at home and that’s not the easiest of situations for me, but I try to cope as good as I can.”

About these photos: “This first photo is me and Riemann, or Riemann and herself, I don’t know. I am not in my own eyes, it is odd to see that on a photo. We converse with each other at times, Riemann and I.

The second one… Sometimes I don’t recognize my own reflection.” 

____________________________________________________________

**Visit Broken Light’s main gallery here. Currently accepting submissions.

*Like us on Facebook & Twitter. Follow below for e-mail notifications.

11 comments on “Multiple Personalities

  1. seeker
    January 6, 2013

    It’s hard to identify oneself when you are looking at the mirror. It’s funny that I just posted Epiphany today talking about schizophrenia. Take care.

    Like

  2. lisalday111711
    January 6, 2013

    I absolutely love these photos….poor girl…so brave
    Lisa

    Like

  3. luro97
    January 6, 2013

    Great photos. The best of luck on your valiant journey.

    Like

  4. jmgoyder
    January 6, 2013

    Brave and beautiful.

    Like

  5. LightHouseBlues
    January 7, 2013

    You are very brave!
    All the best for 2013, take care!

    Like

  6. grumpytykepix
    January 7, 2013

    I don’t think there is anything ‘wrong’ with you – you are just different and, as others said, brave and beautiful. Being put into all those categories must make things very difficult for you. Crossing from physics to art history makes you wonderfully exceptional even though I would say that physics is in itself art. Stick with it; we need people like you.

    Like

    • quantumphysica
      January 12, 2013

      Thank you very much for your encouraging words. They make me feel less alone… (strange for me to speak of alone, in a way. I never am) Anyway, I am grateful for them. Thank you.

      Like

  7. thewitchspromise
    January 7, 2013

    Hi there, I am nominating this blog for an award, check out my recent blog post on Knitters Notebook to find out all about it.

    Like

  8. freshlyworded
    January 7, 2013

    Very haunting and disturbing photos, gives some idea of the challenges you face.

    Like

  9. adriana
    January 8, 2013

    you speak with such clarity and calm. The photos are intriguing; it’s you with two very different energies. Does she help you or intrude to destruction? Is it confusing because no-one understands or because you yourself are confused? Thank you for sharing… it’s beautiful to meet you both..

    Like

    • quantumphysica
      January 12, 2013

      It’s both confusing to me and the world around me. Riemann helps, sometimes, on her own terms. She can be very harsh to me, a bit like a mother, a mistress, an older sister. When things become too much on me, and I threaten to lose my dignity and coherence once again, I know she takes over. I only remember black, like falling asleep, but I know from others she was there then. People have said that perhaps Riemann is the conscience I lack being myself… But that seems derogatory to her, as if she is not her own person. I believe she is. Thank you for addressing us as such.

      Like

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 23,536 other followers

