Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Illumination

Photo taken by a woman in her thirties who suffers from a bipolar illness. As is the case with bipolar, her moods are erratic. Generally down, but sometimes up. It makes working and living a normal life difficult.

About this photo: “This photograph was taken at a luau in Hawaii. I love fire but am also scared of it. It is so beautiful, but can be so dangerous. At times it reminds me of mania or hypomania — the energy, productivity, and creativity that comes from it can be so incredibly beautiful, but it can also be dangerous — thinking you can do anything, over-spending, not sleeping, and of course the inevitable mood crash that always seems to follow the highsLike the fire in this luau, mania can be a great show, bright, mesmerizing and enticing, but should be handled with care.

____________________________________________________________

**Visit Broken Light’s main gallery here. Currently accepting submissions.

*Like us on Facebook & Twitter. Follow below for e-mail notifications.

7 comments on “Illumination

  1. hugmamma
    January 11, 2013

    Photos of Hawaii hold a special place in my heart, for I’m a native Hawaiian living on the mainland. I recently visited relatives and was treated to a luau by a niece. My daughter was with me, and we relished the food and the entertainment. In fact, she got into the act when one of the dancers pulled my daughter up to dance with him. I’ll have to post that photo on my blog…hugmamma’s mind, body, and soul. I might even submit a second entry for this week’s photo challenge with a snapshot much like yours above.

    hugs for reminding me of the beauty of my native home… :)

    Like

  2. 3rdCultureChildren
    January 11, 2013

    Beautiful…. and unique! :o

    Like

  3. Northern Narratives
    January 11, 2013

    That is a powerful photo. Great post.

    Like

  4. The Infinite Journey
    January 11, 2013

    thank you for sharing as well as sharing the story behing the photo!

    Like

  5. betsyborchardt
    January 11, 2013

    I have knowledge of bi-polar illness, but I’ve never thought of equating fire with mania. I love your photo and explanation.
    Betsy

    Like

  6. bipolaronfire
    January 11, 2013

    Gorgeous words and photo

    Like

  7. Zen
    January 13, 2013

    For a person with bipolar, I think this came out pretty well. :)

    Like

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 22,731 other followers

