Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Sunset Over the Yellow Sea

watermarked pinhole sunset 2Photo taken by PJ Brez, a 28-year-old man who lives in the South Korean countryside. He has experienced depression, loneliness, homesickness, and feelings of isolation. He teaches English conversation at a university in Korea, but photography is his passion.

About this photo: “I was out on Korea’s west coast doing some solo camping when I took this shot. It was taken in a place called Anmyeondo. I was really drawn to the area because the beaches were vast and vacant, had beautiful sights, and I could rest, relax, and do some introspective reflection. I set up my tent right on the beach, and went to scout out some ideal areas for taking some photos. I came across this particular spot after trekking the beaches for a few hours. I arrived shortly after noon, and I knew I’d have to come back for sunset. The location was perfect, for it was atop a small bridge and had an elevated vantage point of a tributary being fed by the Yellow Sea. When I came back at sunset, I decided to try to take some experimental photos. I combined a pinhole camera with a neutral density filter, resulting in very long exposures. Since the exposure was so long, it would yield a very soft, dreamy image. I had only tried this one time before, so I wasn’t the slightest bit confident that I’d get a decent photo. I ended up taking two pictures, the first of which can be seen on my site. The photo displayed here is the second I took. The exposure time was about 11 minutes and the first photo was about 7 minutes, meaning I gazed at the sunset over the yellow sea for roughly 20 minutes. This was exactly what I wanted – an escape from my digital grind. A weekend camping out free from Facebook, emails, cell phones, and texting was superb. I wanted to reconnect with nature and capture it in the most primitive way possible – with a pinhole, lensless camera. I’d like to remind everyone how therapeutic nature can be. Turn off your tvs, shut down your computers, and try to explore your surroundings with fresh eyes.

____________________________________________________________

**Visit Broken Light’s main gallery here. Currently accepting submissions.

*Like us on Facebook & Twitter. Follow below for e-mail notifications.

14 comments on “Sunset Over the Yellow Sea

  1. Cornelia Lohs
    January 20, 2013

    Wonderful colors!

    Like

  2. Emily
    January 20, 2013

    Very cool!

    Like

  3. GrowlTigger
    January 20, 2013

    Reblogged this on GT's Webfinds and commented:
    Beautiful photo and an interesting story of how it was taken.

    Like

  4. bipolaronfire
    January 20, 2013

    Unbelieveable photograph. I wish I could do something so beautiful.

    Like

  5. archipelagojewelry
    January 20, 2013

    Just looking at the photo takes me away…

    Like

  6. betsyborchardt
    January 20, 2013

    PJ,
    Beautiful photography and excellent commentary. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
    Betsy

    Like

  7. scott2608
    January 20, 2013

    All I can say is wow!

    Like

  8. Leah Givens
    January 21, 2013

    Exactly…my first thought was “wow!”…and knowing just a bit of your story makes this photo even more amazing.

    Like

  9. xpat92
    January 21, 2013

    Wonderful result!
    Yes, the black box can do miracles. I can hold that for true. :)

    Like

  10. sha'tashari
    January 21, 2013

    Pretty

    Like

  11. LightHouseBlues
    January 21, 2013

    This is absolutely exquisite Patrick!
    I love your wonderful work, please keep it up!
    Take care.
    Marie

    Like

  12. compostingwords
    January 21, 2013

    Beautiful image and great ‘unspoken” lesson in your story about the healing power of nature.

    Like

  13. pjbrez
    January 22, 2013

    I appreciate all the warm words. Thank you all ~

    Like

  14. cottageonstrawberry
    January 25, 2013

    Beautiful photography.
    Serenely peaceful.
    I really like the accompanying stories as well.
    Thank you for your encouraging “like” on my blog.

    Like

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,931 other followers

