Broken Light: A Photography Collective

We are photographers living with or affected by mental illness; supporting each other one photograph at a time. Join our community, submit today!

Unknown

Photo taken by contributor Jacque who has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder and ADHD. She is a graphic designer, wife, and mother to two boys. She is learning to draw from God’s strength to get her through every day. She has also found art and music to be great healers and outlets for the soul.

About this photo: “I created this image to symbolize how misunderstood bipolar people can feel. Living with BP can feel like you’re speaking a foreign language, for the person with it and…on the flip-side… the people around them. I’ve been trying really hard to become more aware of the things I do and say. But some days are rougher than others. I have a mood disorder, which means I don’t do things other people do. It’s like everything is off register, the colors not matching up – red, yellow and cyan are totally off kilter.

My feelings can get easily hurt, go ignored/misunderstood, I can be depressed or sky high or I’m just plain sick of dealing with it all so I’m bleh. On top of all that, I’m stressed out… and as my Doc pointed out to me…NO amount of meds, sleep, therapy or denial will take that away. I just have to smile, manage it as best as possible and endure it…somehow someway.

What does help me are people who are kind, caring and understanding. People who will listen without judgement, without being accusatory, without calling me “crazy” or saying “is there something wrong with you”? The answer is emphatically Yes, yes there is. And now that you know this fact, please just accept who I am. I need to feel loved, no matter how I am feeling or acting. I’m lucky to have a few “angels” in my life who step in seemingly from nowhere, and give me the boost I need to get by. And I’m lucky God’s given me the strength and courage to deal with things. 

So… to those who just can’t seem to understand me, ” C’est la vie.” God get’s me, He loves me and He cares for me no matter how good or bad I’m feeling, that’s good enough for me.”

Find more from Jacque at her blog.

_____

**Visit Broken Light’s main gallery here. Currently accepting submissions.

*Facebook & Twitter @BrokenLighCo & @DanielleHark. Follow for e-mail notifications

5 comments on “Unknown

  1. Paula McLane Jennings
    March 29, 2014

    Very interesting photo and wonderful testimony. It’s very difficult when people don’t ‘get you’ but knowing that God gets you is a wonderful way to deal with it. You have a great attitude.

    Like

    • GODisms
      March 30, 2014

      Thanks for the feature ;) and all the positive comments!

      Like

  2. Susan Thompson
    March 29, 2014

    This is fantastic! The image captures what happens inside when I feel overwhelmed. Thank you so much.

    Like

  3. GODisms
    March 30, 2014

    Reblogged this on god[isms] and commented:
    Thanks for the feature this week Broken Light :) I’m honored my photos can touch people and my stories help shed light on life with BP

    Like

  4. blueribbonfair
    July 17, 2014

    Very encouraging.

    Like

Please Join the Conversation!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 22,066 other followers

