Happy Help

Photo taken by a 40+ year-old woman diagnosed with bipolar 3 disorder and ADD.  She is also a Clinical Psychologist and budding photographer.

About this photo: “This photograph was taken for the second half of an assignment in a photography class I was taking last year.  The first part was to photograph symbols of our nightmares.  This second was to photograph something that spoke to our “happy or good dreams.”  I was really surprised how difficult it was for me to access fantasy or happiness of any sort.  This was the most difficult assignment last year by far.  I decided I wanted to convey how helpful medication can be if it is prescribed by a well-trained physician in tandem with excellent psychotherapy.  My two doctors seriously keep me afloat and the medications, when balanced, truly provide happiness and balance.  There needs to be improved media attention to mental illness, symptoms, and it’s repercussions and effects on individuals and families.  I hoped to explore these issues in an honest way with my Xanax, Vyvance, Lithium, and Lamictal.  

Unfortunately, it didn’t go over well.  Some of my classmates seemed shocked and unusually quiet.  My teacher, who is normally very supportive of my work, told me I missed the point.  Perhaps I did, but I also want to believe I stretched it to a place that people who do not rely on psychotropics cannot go yet, but will someday.”

____________________________________________________________

**Visit Broken Light’s main gallery here. Currently accepting submissions.

*Like us on Facebook & Twitter. Follow below for e-mail notifications.

6 replies to “Happy Help

  1. I don’t think you missed the point – I think it was the others who missed your point. They must be fortunate enough to not to have experienced what this represents. To me it is full of meaning. I like the ‘ABBLE’ – almost ‘ABLE’, and the idea of building happiness. Well done, I say.

    Like

  2. Hmmm, whenever a teacher tells someone they missed the point concerning an assignment that involves the expression of personal feelings, then it’s the teacher who missed the point altogether. ;/ Bravo to you for creating such a meaningful ‘portrait’… it fits me too!

    Like

Please Join the Conversation!

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star